The Executive Committee Voted to Postpone the Following Recommendation RECOMMENDATION TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

FROM:

President Jan Leighton

RECOMMENDATION:

To amend the Arizona REALTORS[®] Bylaws at Article VI, Section 2 to provide for two (2) quota directors per local association and Article VI, Section 3 to revise the composition of non-quota directors.

BACKGROUND:

In 2019 WEMAR merged into SEVRAR to form one association – the West & Southeast REALTORS[®] of the Valley. In connection with the merger, the leadership of the merging associations requested that the Arizona REALTORS[®] review and revise the quota and non-quota director allocations in the current Bylaws. As a result, 2020 President Mary Roberts formed a Governance Presidential Advisory Group (PAG), chair by Past President Evan Fuchs. The PAG made the following recommendations:

Reduce the numbers of Board members to 73 (from 122 in 2020), as follows:

- 28 local association quota directors 2 per association (reduced from 68)
- 9 elected officers (same as 2020)
- 20 Arizona quota Director of the National Association of REALTORS (same as 2020)
- 1 immediate past president (reduced from 3)
- 4 chairs of the four Primary Committees (same as 2020)
- 4 representatives of the Arizona state chapters or regional chapter if no state chapter exists, of the Institutes, Societies and Councils (ISCs) of the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS[®] (same as 2020)
- 6 real estate firm representatives (reduced from 11)
- 1 board/association Executive Officer (reduced from 3)

These recommendations, along with updating/clarifying revisions, are reflected in the attached document.

This Motion was originally slated for the March 2020 Executive Committee and Board of Directors meetings. However, the Arizona REALTORS[®] Line Officers decided not to move the Motion forward during the COVID-19 virtual meetings, because they determined that this proposed governance change should have in-person dialogue.

BUDGET IMPACT:

None

MOTION:

OR

TO AMEND THE ARIZONA REALTORS[®] BYLAWS AT ARTICLE VI, SECTION 2 TO PROVIDE FOR TWO (2) QUOTA DIRECTORS PER LOCAL ASSOCIATION AND ARTICLE VI, SECTION 3 TO REVISE THE COMPOSITION OF NON-QUOTA DIRECTORS AS SET FORTH IN THE ATTACHED DOCUMENT.

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT:

Mary Roberts, 2020 President – <u>maryrobertshavasu@gmail.com</u> Jan Leighton, President – <u>janleightonaz@gmail.com</u> Michelle Lind, CEO – <u>michellelind@aaronline.com</u>