RECOMMENDATION TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

FROM:

President Jan Leighton

RECOMMENDATION:

To amend the Arizona REALTORS® Bylaws at Article VI, Section 2 to provide for two (2) quota directors per local association and Article VI, Section 3 to revise the composition of non-quota directors.

BACKGROUND:

In 2019 WEMAR merged into SEVRAR to form one association – the West & Southeast REALTORS® of the Valley. In connection with the merger, the leadership of the merging associations requested that the Arizona REALTORS® review and revise the quota and non-quota director allocations in the current Bylaws. As a result, 2020 President Mary Roberts formed a Governance Presidential Advisory Group (PAG), chair by Past President Evan Fuchs. The PAG made the following recommendations:

Reduce the numbers of Board members to 73 (from 122 in 2020), as follows:

- 28 local association quota directors 2 per association (reduced from 68)
- 9 elected officers (same as 2020)
- 20 Arizona quota Director of the National Association of REALTORS (same as 2020)
- 1 immediate past president (reduced from 3)
- 4 chairs of the four Primary Committees (same as 2020)
- 4 representatives of the Arizona state chapters or regional chapter if no state chapter exists, of the Institutes, Societies and Councils (ISCs) of the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® (same as 2020)
- **6** real estate firm representatives (reduced from 11)
- 1 board/association Executive Officer (reduced from 3)

These recommendations, along with updating/clarifying revisions, are reflected in the attached document.

This Motion was originally slated for the March 2020 Executive Committee and Board of Directors meetings. However, the Arizona REALTORS® Line Officers decided not to move the Motion forward during the COVID-19 virtual meetings, because they determined that this proposed governance change should have in-person dialogue.

BUDGET IMPACT:

None

MOTION:

OR

TO AMEND THE ARIZONA REALTORS® BYLAWS AT ARTICLE VI, SECTION 2 TO PROVIDE FOR TWO (2) QUOTA DIRECTORS PER LOCAL ASSOCIATION AND ARTICLE VI, SECTION 3 TO REVISE THE COMPOSITION OF NON-QUOTA DIRECTORS AS SET FORTH IN THE ATTACHED DOCUMENT.

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT:

Mary Roberts, 2020 President - <u>maryrobertshavasu@gmail.com</u>
Jan Leighton, President - <u>janleightonaz@gmail.com</u>
Michelle Lind, CEO - <u>michellelind@aaronline.com</u>

Note:

Numbers in green indicate the number of directors in the category

Red indicates current Bylaws language to be stricken

Highlighted yellow is new added language.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS/EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Section 1. AAR shall be managed by the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee as further provided in these Bylaws. Each Director shall serve for a term of one (1) year.

Section 2. Quota Directors shall be elected or named by each Member Board.

- Each Member Board shall have at least one (1) two (2) Quota Directors and such additional Quota Directors based on the number of members on record with AAR as of December 31 of the year preceding eligibility as follows:
- 400-699 add one (1);
- 700-999 add three (3);
- 1,000-2,999 add four (4);
- 3,000-4,999 add five (5);
- 5,000-6,999 add six (6);
- and 7,000 or more add twelve (12).

Section 3. The following persons shall be voting, non-quota AAR Directors:

(a) all elected AAR officers;

- OF REALTORS®;
- (c) the three (3) most immediate past AAR presidents who hold active membership in AAR and are willing to serve;
- (d) chairs of the four (4) Primary Committees;
- (e) four (4) representatives of the Arizona state chapters, or regional chapter if no state chapter exists, of the Institutes, Societies and Councils (ISCs) of the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS®;
- (f) two (2) Member Board or Regional Multiple Listing Service (MLS) chief staff officers;

(g)

- one (1) representative from each of the five (5) two (2) largest firms in the large firm category,
- one (1) representative from each of the four (4) two (2) largest firms in the medium firm category and
- one (1) representative from each of the two (2) firms in the small firm category, in terms of number of REALTOR® members; and
- (h) the one (1) Member Board/Association Executive Officer appointed by the President, subject to the approval of the Board of Directors, to serve on the Executive Committee.

 from an "outside" organization selected by AAR's President elect annually.

In the event that one (1) member shall qualify under more than one of the categories described in Section 3 or in Section 2 of this Article, that person shall be entitled to only one (1) vote as a Director.

For the purposes of the firm categories: Llarge firms shall be defined as those firms having six hundred fifty (650) one thousand (1,000) or more REALTORS®; Mmedium firms shall be defined as those firms having with six hundred forty-nine (649) to one hundred fifty one (151) six hundred fifty (650) to one hundred fifty-one (151) REALTORS®; and Ssmall firms shall be defined as those firms located in either Region One (1) and Region Three (3) with having one hundred fifty (150) or fewer REALTORS®. and the Each of the two (2) Ssmall firm directors must be an owner, partner or officer of their real estate firm. The RVP from Region One (1) will select one (1) small firm director from that region, and the RVP from Region Three (3) will select one (1) small firm director from that region. The Directors of the firm categories shall be determined as of December 31st two (2) years prior to the elective year served.

Section 4. The Board of Directors shall elect and remove AAR officers and National Director Nominees, approve the annual budget and dues, approve withdrawals from the Operating or Capital Reserves, other than as noted in Article IV, Sections 1 and 2, and amend AAR's Bylaws and Policies except Professional Standards policies, which may be approved by AAR's Executive Committee. AAR's accounts shall be audited annually by a certified public accountant.



2020 GOVERNANCE PAG ROSTER

Evan Fuchs - Chair Bullhead City/Mohave Valley

Bullhead Laughlin Realty 928-542-8610 maryrobertshavasu@gmail.com

Jan Leighton - 2020 President-elect

J D Campbell Realty, Inc. 623-972-6133 JanLeightonAZ@gmail.com

Eric Gibbs - 2020 Treasurer

Realty ONE Group Integrity 520-906-0769 eric@rogintegrity.com

James Adams - Sedona/Verde Valley

Realty ONE Group Mountain Desert 928.821.3288 adamshomesaz@gmail.com

Lori Doerfler - Lake Havasu City

Realty ONE Group Mountain Desert 928-208-9827 lorideedoerfler@gmail.com

Sue Flucke - Phoenix

West USA Realty 623-522-5000 sueflucke@westusa.com

Dena Greenawalt - WeSERV

Re/Max Alliance 602-980-6001 denag@dmgazhomes.com Rebecca Grossman - Scottsdale Area

480-945-2651

rebecca@scottsdalerealtors.org

Judy Jackson - Northern Arizona

928-779-4303

judyj@nazrealtor.com

Roger Nelson - WeSERV

855-931-9294

rnelson@weserv.realtor

Craig Peck - WeSERV

Re/Max Foothills 602-290-7090 craigpeck@remax.net

Lisa Suarez - Tucson

EMS Realty, Inc. 520-907-9288 lisa-ems@msn.com

STAFF

Michelle Lind, CEO

michellelind@aaronline.com

Scott Drucker, General Counsel/Assistant CEO

scottdrucker@aaronline.com

Christina Smalls, Director of Operations

christinasmalls@aaronline.com